Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Awards - 2024

Submitted by Tri-County ESC on Tue, 04/18/2023 - 10:27am

2024 Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Award Winners Honored

On Monday, April 15, 2024, the Ohio Educational Service Center Association (OESCA) recognized Ohio’s top students statewide during the annual Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Awards Program. Nominated by one of the 51 Ohio educational service centers (ESCs), eligible applicants are high school seniors that demonstrate outstanding academic achievement and community service as indicated by high school grades, test scores, school and community activities, and awards.

"in order to achieve this level of success, these students have demonstrated a commitment to excellence, resilience and grit," stated OESCA Executive Director Craig Burford. For nearly four decades, OESCA has recognized nearly over 2,600 scholars and student leaders during this event. “Ohio’s ESCs have over a century of service in providing technical assistance and support to Ohio’s schools and students, and during this event we get to see the impact of that work,” added Burford. “We look forward to our continued partnership with students and families, school district leadership, and state policymakers to ensure students have equal access to high quality educational opportunities and experiences regardless of where they live and attend school.”

The award program, named in honor of Ohio’s thirty first State Superintendent of Public Instruction, Franklin B. Walter, was established by OESCA in 1989 to promote and recognize outstanding student leaders for their academic achievement and service to their schools and communities. One senior from each county in Ohio is eligible to receive this annual honor.

Students receiving the award in 2024 are Jenna Hartson from Ashland High School representing Ashland County, Autumn Shaw from East Holmes High School representing Holmes County and John Pomfret from Wooster High School representing Wayne County.

Congratulations winners for this well-deserved honor, and we wish you much success in your future endeavors.

Jenna Hartson – Ashland County

Jenna is the daughter of Rob and Jill Hartson of Ashland. She is ranked first in her graduating class at Ashland High School. She will be attending the Otterbein University majoring in Education.  Jenna’s goal as a teacher is to recognize and act when a student needs extra help or encouragement. 

Autumn Shaw – Holmes County

Autumn is the daughter of Laurie Shaw of Sugarcreek.  She is ranked thirty-third in her graduating class at Hiland High School. She will be attending Art Academy of Cincinnati majoring in Studio Arts. Autumn has a passion to develop her art fundamentals.

John Pomfret – Wayne County

John is the son of Tim and Margaret Pomfret of Wooster.  He is ranked ninth in his graduating class at Wooster High School. John will be attending Purdue University majoring Applied Physics with a minor Aerospace Systems and Aviation.   John has a passion for aviation and psychics which has pointed him toward pursuing an education and career that will be fulfilling while contributing to advancing aeronautics.